The sooner I fall behind, the more time I have to catch up …

Yes ... it is an art form

 

procrastination the act of procrastinating; putting off or delaying or deferring an action to a later time. 

It has been written that …

Copy of 11002229-blackboard-writings-procrastination-is-the-thief-of-time
There is most certainly an abundance of truth in that statement
.

bart simpson procrastination
So we all have lessons to learn … just like Bart.

Procrastination-procrastination-263974_423_300Writers have easy access to a large number of work avoidance strategies. Anything to delay actually getting down to some good honest writing. These range from sharpening a few pencils to searching for the lost continent of Atlantis.

008_Procrastination_webThis cartoon created by Richard Krzemien just about sums up the whole situation. His brilliant website The Writer at Work takes a humorous look at the daily fears, hopes, dreams, and disappointments the writer (or any creative person) faces.

And another thing …

cartoon


In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth procrastinated …
If this were the case then we’d all still be sitting around not sitting around saying that this Big Bang thing was a great idea in theory … but not in our universe!

But then again …

Copy of ProcrastinationFinally, a few quotes well worth considering …

“Procrastination always gives you something to look forward to.”
   (Joan Konner)

“I like work. It fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours.” (Anonymous)

“Never put off until tomorrow what you can do the day after tomorrow.” (Mark Twain)

And if it’s good enough for Mark Twain … then it’s good enough for me!

marktwainbed

 

13 responses to “The sooner I fall behind, the more time I have to catch up …

  1. Brilliant – insights and humour as well, excellent combination, brightened up my morning, thank you! We all procrastinate and we all find ways to challenge it too – though I think if we stopped calling it procrastination and re-framed it as ‘thinking’ or ‘research’ we might not get the guilts so much and therefore actually procrastinate less – just a thought. Following your blog now, very enjoyable 🙂
    http://www.subliminalspaces.wordpress.com

    • Hi there Roberta – thank you so much for your lovely comments.I certainly see your point about re-terming procrastination … I’ll think about it tomorrow … or maybe the day after!!
      I’m just about to check out your blog which I’ll be sure to follow as well.
      All the very best
      Kris

  2. Pingback: My Back Pages … # 1 | Routine Matters

  3. I shall come back and leave a comment later, once I have thought about it a bit, made some tea, rearranged my knicker drawer and chased Terry around the house a bit. I will definitely, certainly do it… but maybe in awhile. Or tomorrow… 😉

  4. Oo er Mrs! Take your time. 😀👙

  5. I love your thoughts about procrastinating. I was laughing when I saw the cartoon with the writer. So many things to keep in mind……. which definitely kills creativity. LOL. Great post, Kris. Funny and insightful 😀

  6. Pingback: I, Writer … # 8 (She’s stripping off again!) | Routine Matters

Leave a Reply

