Hourglass … a short story

hourglass

A few days ago I went out and purchased an Hourglass.

I read that best-selling author Jeffrey Archer uses one:

“It’s a two- hour glass actually which my wife got made for me as I write in slots of 2 hours. It’s got silver at the top and bottom with glass in the middle. Now I’ll tell you why I use it. You see, most of us are lazy, me included. But if you have an hourglass it tells you how lazy you are being in case you stop your work before the last grain is through. Writing is a great discipline. The hourglass reminds me of the discipline which I have to maintain.”

Well you can’t argue with that so I thought I’d give it a go.

hour glass

I placed the Hourglass next to the model of a Supermarine Spitfire on my writing desk.

musical-mente-alessandro-milesi-300x300I sat and watched the sand flow and I flowed with it.

eeb6af94-1356-11e2-ac28-00144feabdc0

I didn’t get any writing done that day but I still felt good.

The End

Space time

3 responses to “Hourglass … a short story

  1. Pingback: My Back Pages … # 2 | Routine Matters

  2. I like the idea of the hourglass! But I think I would rather like to have it because it looks pretty… lol

  3. Same here. Too busy watching the bloody sand.

Leave a Reply

