Margaret Drabble …

MargaretDrabbleMargaret Drabble, born 1939, is an English novelist, biographer and critic. Her work includes A Summer Bird-Cage (1963), The Millstone  (1965), The Witch of Exmoor (1996), The Red Queen (2004) and The Pure Gold Baby (2013).

authors-and-typewriter8j72

Margaret Drabble pictured in her London flat (1974).

Margaret was interviewed by the Paris Review in 1978. She then wrote her books in a room in Bloomsbury.

” I used to work in the evenings when the children were small, but now I work in the morning. I can’t write the whole day long. I have a room where I go because I can’t work at home – the telephone and other distractions. I start work about quarter to ten and work through till lunchtime. Sometimes I work in the afternoon. If a book is going reasonably well, I write terribly fast. And I don’t rewrite very much either. I really just rattle along. I think that this is because I’ve always been short of time. I’ve always been saving up the time to work so that by the time I actually get to the typewriter I usually have a very good idea of what I’ve got to get through. It’s all there waiting. “

She was also interviewed in 2007 for the Guardian’s series called Writers Rooms.

drabble

I work best in the mornings. I hate being interruupted and need to think I’ve got some clear hours ahead, even if I haven’t. After six o’clock, I’ve had it.”

Leave a Reply

