Barbara Trapido …

BARBARA TRAPIDO … LIVING THE DREAM

Barbara Trapido

Barbara Trapido is a British novelist born in South Africa. She is the author of seven novels including Brother of the More Famous Jack (winner of a Whitbread special prize for fiction), Temples of Delight (shortlisted for the Sunday Express Book of the Year Award), The Travelling Horn Player, Frankie and Stankie (shortlisted for the 1998 Whitbread Novel Award and longlisted for the Man Booker Prize). She lives in Oxford. 

9780747599586

She was interviewed by the Guardian newspaper in 2007 for its Writers’ Rooms series.

7a94caa3-410e-4451-b0fd-d63c562d8cfd

Photograph: Eamonn McCabe

I try to work from this nice little attic in my house that has views across the Oxford Canal to Wytham Woods. The way I work is to bed down in here two nights a week and rise at 3 or 4am. Then I write, cross-legged, in bed with an A4 pad on my knee until about nine. The mini-kettle and the Mr Illy tin of biscuits are there because I can’t leave the room, or I get that Xanadu moment and my fantasy life flies away. Writing novels is like dreaming. My real life returns with breakfast and the room goes back to playing dead. All I use it for after that is email.

9781408822753

Click here for the full interview

Brother of the More Famous Jack (1982)

Noah’s Ark (1984)

Temples of Delight (1990)

Juggling (1994)

The Travelling Hornplayer (1998)

Frankie & Stankie (2003)

Sex & Stravinsky (2010)

Thanks for dropping by. See you again soon.

Leave a Reply

