An unexpected visitor …

AN UNEXPECTED VISITOR

Regular readers may remember that Routine Matters posted an article quite recently about a young man who served as a navigator in RAF Bomber Command during World War 2. His name was flight lieutenant Iain Nicolson.

nav

Flight Lieutenant Iain Nicolson (1923-2009)

Yesterday I received a completely unexpected message in my comment box …

2 RESPONSES TO “FLIGHT OF THE NAVIGATOR … DANGEROUS PLOTS AT 20,000 FEET

  1. John Nicolson 

    Iain Nicolson was my Dad, thank you for writing this. In life for me he was a truly inspirational man, unbelievably good. As his son I am so proud of him but I am also aware that that I am not half the man he was. John Nicolson

    • Hello John.Thank you so much for getting in touch.I have some idea of how you must feel. My Dad was in the Royal Navy himself during the war. He was present at the Normandy Landings, helping to launch landing craft.He used to joke about the fact that even though he was in the navy he and most of his pals couldn’t swim but it didn’t matter because the blokes in the RAF couldn’t fly either! All the very best.It was so good to hear from you.
      Kris.

      lancaster1

       View post

3 responses to “An unexpected visitor …

  1. My father was in the Royal Navy too towards but only towards end of the war but did not see any action (to my chagrin!). My mother, however, was a VAD. In fact, you might be interested in my post from yesterday on First Night History: http://wp.me/p4E5SA-18U

Leave a Reply

