Roald Dahl … Simply the Best

Roald Dahl … Simply the Best

candle burns at both ends It will not last the night But ah my foes and oh my friends It gives a lovely light

Roald Dahl (1916-1990)

2016 marks 100 years since the birth of Roald Dahl. 

roald-dahl-collage

Roald-Dahl-001

Roald Dahl

D -Writing board 1- RDMSC - LOW RES

9 responses to “Roald Dahl … Simply the Best

  1. An absolute legend and no doubt responsible for influencing millions of readers and writers all over the world.

    • An amazing guy. We will never see his like again. He is certainly the reason I started writing stories for children back in the 1980’s. We even had the same literary agent, Murray Pollinger. I couldn’t make a living out of writing back then but now I’m working my way back in. Better get a bloody move on.

      • The same literary agent!! That is so very cool indeed. I swooned a bit, just then. I have no doubt you will be topping the best seller charts in no time. Good luck 🙂

  2. It is long ago but I remember there was this series, I guess during the early 80’s…. or am I completely wrong?

    • Hi Erika. Thanks for dropping by. You are probably thinking of Tales of the Unexpected. They were some of his adult stories adapted for TV.
      The books are available on Amazon and so are some of the TV episodes.
      You can also view some on YouTube.

      • Yes, right, that would fit the German title. I liked them. Pretty mysterious as far as I can remember! I will check them. Thanks for the hints, Kris!

  3. My pleasure.What was the German title ?

  4. His books were possibly the only ones that I read out to my children as they came. No room for make believe characters from me, his are and always will be amazing.. You haven’t truly learned to read until you read a dhal. He was truly Inspiration at it’s best. Thank you for reminding me. 😇

Leave a Reply

