The Girl with a Pearl Earring …

The Girl with a Pearl Earring …

0988fd10f369049ce18a82fd75ab3a27

 Tracy Chevalier is an American British historical novelist. She has written eight novels. She is best known for her second novel, Girl with a Pearl Earring,  which was adapted as a 2003 film starring Scarlett Johansson and Colin Firth. 

She talked about her writing routine during a 2014 interview with the Daily Telegraph.

I wake up at 7am and get my son up and off to school. Then at 8am I’m ready to start. I’m always quite hopeful at that stage. But then I check my email and Facebook and Twitter and an hour and a half has gone by. So I read what I wrote the day before. I aim to write 1,000 words a day – about three pages – and I write with a pen and paper. When I reach 1,000 words I feel good. Less than that: a failure. More than that: tired. On an average day I’ll be done by early afternoon and go for a walk.

62-Tracy-Chevalier

I write novels longhand into a notebook, typing what I’ve written into the computer at the end of each day. I use blue ink and disposable fountain pens. I prefer paper and pen because it feels closer to my brain. Typing straight into the computer feels soulless. There’s something tactile about touching the pen that touches the ink. I have a desk in my study but usually I write on the living room sofa. Writing isn’t easy! Every day I am faced with a blank page and I have that feeling of having to pull it out of myself. But it gets easier. I have more faith in myself and when I get stuck I think, Tracy you’ve managed to do it before. Next day, I read what I wrote the day before and that jumpstarts me.

Tracy Chevalier website

4 responses to “The Girl with a Pearl Earring …

  1. A few months ago, I read Remarkable Creatures and couldn’t recommend it more highly. It inspired this art piece! https://firstnightdesign.wordpress.com/2015/08/06/first-night-design-looking-for-fossils-art/

  2. Hi. Thanks so much for dropping by. I used to live at Lyme Regis close to where Mary Anning collected fossils. A wonderful place. All the best.

Leave a Reply

