I, Writer # 1

I, Writer # 1

Imgp6398_kindlephoto-268294163

After almost 65 years I have decided that enough is enough.
I am going to become a full-time writer. So I will need to buy a pencil sharpener. I intend to get it at the little stationery shop in the village of Karousades just a short walk from where I live. The owner is a very nice guy. He speaks a little English. I speak a little Greek. The first time we met, he was standing behind his counter with a very attractive young woman.This is when he told me that his name was Napoleon.

” So this must be Josephine,” I quipped.
“No. This is my daughter,” came the terse reply.

We laugh about it now. Well, one of us does.

prodzoomimg7977

Now, I am aware that becoming a full-time writer entails a bit more than the purchase of a pencil sharpener. So join me I, Writer on my journey from near literary obscurity to the heady world of book signings and award ceremonies. Each week I will keep you posted about my progress and give you a little background information. Somewhere along the line I suspect that I may well have to write something. I consider this to be a minor inconvenience. The merest of details.

pencil2-1

They say that you can’t teach an old dog to bark up the wrong tree. I beg to differ. Hemingway once said that you should write while you’re drunk and edit while you’re sober. Well, I’m already half way there. Quite honestly, at this point in time, I really don’t have a clue as to where all this is going. No doubt it will unfold. It’s all set. The die is cast. The wheels are in motion. Let’s go. 

Paper and Pencil

33 responses to “I, Writer # 1

  1. It’s a raki road to ruin, K!

  2. Well you have your pencil… and presumably the time. A sheet of paper (or two) would be useful… and a chair to sit in and compose. Nothing obvious to hold you back so start writing! 🙂

    • Well, yes. I can see where you’re coming from on this one Colin. Thank you for holding the starting pistol to my head and firing it. I now have a headache and will be taking the appropriate medication.

  3. I certainly wish you well. I started writing full-time four years ago. I did not journal my progress but will be interested in your journey. Yes, you will have to write something before you get the adulation of fans and the award ceremony. I know it’s not fair but that’s how it is. (Drat)

    • Hello John. Thanks so much for dropping by. It’s good to hear from you. As a full-time writer yourself, do you have any useful tips ?

      • Yup. Set a word count goal for the day and meet it first before you do anything else. I have 1000 words as a goal and have to do them before all else. The math works out to a book every 100 days. (I only do one book a year though) Also do not let anyone review your work until you have completed a rough draft of the whole thing. There is nothing more discouraging as someone you respect telling you they either don’t understand what you have written or they think it should be changed. After you complete your draft you can ask thousands what they think and then make any corrections you see fit. At least you have finished the draft.

      • That seems a good idea. How long do you think the 1000 words takes. Does this vary ? Thank you so much for your input. All the very best. Kris.

      • C’mon Chris… do the Math. How long does 1 word take and extrapolate. Of course you will have to allow for a variable re word length because obviously big words take longer… but you can do it. Have faith! 🙂

      • Hi Colin. Well I can scribble at about 25 words a minute but that doesn’t include deciphering, thinking time and finger-cramp. Typing on a keyboard is about the same. So I think I’m looking at about two hours.

      • Bingo! Nobody knows you better than you…. so that’s your answer!

      • Is Ray’s (your) book coming out soon ?

      • Hi Chris. We keep running into minor legality issues re copyrights, but all were resolved last week so I am hoping for a release date very soon.

      • It takes me about an hour and a half. (sometimes two) I purposely stop after 1000 so that I can sustain the story. I also write the first line for the next day so I don’t have to go back and read.

  4. Thanks John. Yes. I think it would take me about two hours. Thinking about it though, purely for a way that could work for me, I would do a two hour session and not worry too much about the word count to start with.
    All the best. Kris.

  5. By the way guys … Thank you so much for your help and advice which I value very much.

  6. Good Luck – it’s a wonderful journey 😀

  7. You made me smile – the whole way through your post. Happy writing, drinking and editing.

  8. Nice pic, Chris! Very authorey!

  9. Reblogged this on Woven Fray and commented:
    Write when drunk and edit while sober—that makes sense.

  10. Pingback: Catch up with I, Writer | Routine Matters

  11. This is brilliant! I applaud you, Kris. I have some homemade damson wine, if that helps.

  12. My dad used to make damson wine. It was pure nectar. A taste from heaven.
    I am sure that yours would be of equal measure.

Leave a Reply

