I, Writer # 3

Writer1-330_kindlephoto-110224243

Today you find me on the little winding path that leads gently down through the woods to the road of full-timeness. It is very nice here. The trees are quite dense in these parts. Thus I restrict my conversation to comments about the weather.

forest_path_by_tellur123-d75rc59_kindlephoto-293532023

I think I’m being followed. Little scamperings in the undergrowth. Strange whispering in the shadows. That sort of thing. I am minded of a saying by the eminent French philosopher and author Albert Camus.

Don’t walk behind me; I may not lead. Don’t walk in front of me; I may not follow. In fact, just bugger off and leave me alone.

OK, he didn’t actually say the last bit, but I am sure he would have were he in my shoes. No matter. I have reached the edge of the woods.

9308-road-into-the-distance-iphone-hd-wallpaper_640x960_kindlephoto-294704571

The road towards full-timeness stretches out before me. It looks never-ending. Fortunately I have a telescope. I point it towards some distant specks.

men-working-desk-road-office-traffic-13530204592_kindlephoto-247012378

Look. It must be a full-time writer. And he’s in colour. Things are beginning to look up. This is absolutely tremendous. Wonderful. 

I feel a tap on my shoulder and a voice saying ….

You don’t want to go there. You really don’t.

6 responses to “I, Writer # 3

  1. This. Is. GENIUS.
    *standing ovation*

  2. Hello. You are very kind. Anyway … it takes one to know one.

    • Thank you for the reblog. I always think that reblog sounds a bit like a plumbing term. Something like unblocking a toilet. Anyway, enough of the toilet humour. You are very kind. All the best. Kris.

  3. Pingback: Catch up with I, Writer | Routine Matters

Leave a Reply

