Anthony Trollope …

Anthony Trollope …

anthony-trollope-by-napoleon-sarony-1

Anthony Trollope (1815~1882) was a Victorian novelist. Among his best-known works is a series of novels collectively known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire. He also wrote novels on political, social, and gender issues, and other topical matters.

Beginning with his first novel in 1847, Anthony Trollope wrote at an incredible pace. Over the next 38 years, he published 47 novels, 18 works of non-fiction, 12 short stories, 2 plays, and an assortment of articles and letters.

glnwaltham

Trollope lived at Waltham House, Waltham Cross for 12 years between 1859 and 1871, where he wrote twenty-six novels and entertained his illustrious London friends. Barney, Trollope’s long-time Irish servant, is standing by the gate.

He managed to achieve his incredible productivity by dint of an unvarying early-mornng writing session. He was also employed for much of this time as a civil servant at the General Post Office, a position he held for over 30 years.

anthony_trollope

In his autobiography he wrote …

It was my practice to be at my table every morning at 5.30 A.M.; and it was also my practice to allow myself no mercy. An old groom, whose business it was to call me, and to whom I paid £5 a year extra for the duty, allowed himself no mercy. During all those years at Waltham Cross he never was once late with the coffee which it was his duty to bring me.

By beginning at that hour I could complete my literary work before I dressed for breakfast. All those I think who have lived as literary men will agree with me that three hours a day will produce as much as a man ought to write. But then, he should so have trained himself that he shall be able to work continuously during those three hours.

trollope-working-kel_kindlephoto-69025575

It had at this time become my custom,—and is still my custom, though of late I have become a little lenient of myself—to write with my watch before me, and to require of myself 250 words every quarter of an hour…

This division of time allowed me to produce over ten pages of an ordinary novel volume a day, and if kept up through ten months, would have given as its results three novels of three volumes each in the year …

muj4zn

If he completed a novel before the three hours were up, he would take out a fresh sheet of paper and immediately begin the next one.

References:

 

 

 

One response to “Anthony Trollope …

  1. I loved the Palliser novels!

Leave a Reply

