Lemony Snicket …

 Lemony Snicket …

lemony

1024px-lemony_snicket_signature-svg

Daniel Handler is an American writer and journalist. He is best known for his work under the pen name Lemony Snicket, having published children’s series A Series of Unfortunate Events and All the Wrong Questions under this pseudonym. He has also published adult novels under his real name. His first book The Basic Eight was rejected by many publishers for its dark subject matter. His books have sold more than 70 million copies and have been translated into 40 languages. He lives with his wife and child in San Francisco. 

cfc91b53a716269cae3f70bb1dbc7954

Handler’s desk is a gynecologist’s table. A black file cabinet is stuffed with the tiny notebooks Handler uses to jot down ideas. It belonged to his wife’s grandfather and still has his labels on it: “Sewing, Sun cream, Bulbs, Shaver, Soap.”

lemony_snicket_by_lapislazulilawliet-d3hcz6y

In a 2013 interview with The Daily Beast he spoke about his daily writing routine.

I have an idea and then I start poking around. I read whatever books seem appropriate, which leads me to books that really are appropriate, and I write down a lot of things on index cards and legal pads that I move around while muttering to myself. Then suddenly I say, this is enough, get going, and it’s enough, and I get going.

th

I write longhand on legal pads, about half at home and half in cafés. I drink a lot of water and eat a lot of raw carrots. The only unusual desk item I can think of is a Buddha Machine, which produces loops of ambient sound, for times when music is too much and silence is not enough. The view in front of me is a blank wall, but I can stand and look out a window at my lovely street and watch bicyclists give up on the hill and walk it.

920x1240

 series-of-unfortunate-1

6 responses to “Lemony Snicket …

  1. Oh, this man is just delightful. But I hope he gave that desk a good wipe down first.

  2. Oh, we can but hope.😉

  3. Inspiring. I have just forwarded this with emphasis on “His first book The Basic Eight was rejected by many publishers for its dark subject matter,” to my amazing son-in-law who has written some VERY dark stuff. From the title alone (“Necropolis”) of his latest novel, you can tell. 😉

  4. I like the sound of the Buddha machine!

Leave a Reply

